Calendar of Events

   4950 Oberlin Avenue Lorain, OH, 44053               Phone:  440.282.9920                         Fax: 440.282.9928
About Us
The Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board of Lorain County is a special purpose governmental agency charged with planning, evaluating, coordinating, funding and contracting for the delivery of publicly-financed alcohol and other drug addiction education,prevention and treatment services for the benefit of Lorain County residents.

The mission of the Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board of Lorain County is to evaluate program quality and continuity of care, as well as, plan, coordinate, fund and contract for services to prevent, educate and treat alcoholism and other drug addiction that will result in the well-being of Lorain County residents.

Vision & Value Statements
We believe through our contract provider- and collaborative-partnerships (locally, statewide and nationally), consumers can move towards abstinence with positive life-style changes.

We believe that as stewards of public funds for alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention, intervention and treatment services, our system needs to continually refine and learn from the behaviors and activities of our consumers and their families – as affected by the disease of alcoholism and other drug addiction.

We believe that a full continuum of care, including prevention, intervention and treatment is only the beginning of the foundation of recovery from the disease of alcoholism and other drug addiction.

Resource Links.
Communities That Care of Lorain County
Drug Free Action Alliance
Great Lakes Addiction Technology Transfer Center
Join Together
Lorain County Commissioners
Office of National Drug Control Policy
Ohio Association of County Behavioral Health Authorities
Ohio Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services

Local Publications
ADAS Board's Community Plan (2010-2011)
ADAS Board's CQI Summary Annual Report
Youth Survey (CTC) - 2009 - Lorain County
Lorain County Youth Pages

Alcohol & Drug Addiction Services Board of Lorain County
24 Hour Urgent Helpline (440) 277-8190
The Alcohol, Drug Addiction Services (ADAS) Board of Lorain County is responsible for the planning, funding and monitoring of public alcohol and other drug addiction  prevention and treatment services delivered to the residents of Lorain County.

Staff Members
The following is a directory of our staff. The directory includes the staff name, title, and e-mail address. All staff can be reached via telephone at (440) 282-9920
Elaine Georgas, BA
Executive Director

Rob Swindell, MBA, NHA
Associate Director

Christine Robinson, LISW-S
Director of Program Services

Dalila Vargas
Claims Coordinator

Sharon Asimou
Administrative Assistant

Grant/Project Staff:
Catherine Gabe, CTC Coordinator

Timothy Williams
STOP Coordinator

Brenda Taylor-Hines
PRIDE Project Director
Take "Time To Text" Your Teens.
For many teens, text messaging is a primary form of communication. It’s a quick, easy way for them to make plans and instantly stay in touch.   That’s why we’ve created a free, downloadable guide called "Time To Text" This easy-to-use tool offers tips on how to text, provides sample messages to send to teens and features a cheat sheet parents can keep in their wallet.
Click here to download the guide!
Board of Directors
Current Board members and their terms are listed below.The ADAS Board is a volunteer 18 member board of directors. They serve 4-year terms and are appointed by either the Ohio Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services or the Lorain County Commissioners.

Christine Arendt (term expires 6/30/2012)
Richard Clifford (term expires 6/30/2012)*
Jacqueline Discenza (term expires 6/30/2013)
David DiTullio (term expires 6/30/2011)*
Steven Figueroa (term expires 6/30/2014)*
Amy Gilbert (term expires 6/30/2014)
Susan Glassford (term expires 6/30/2012)*
Karen McIlwaine (term expires 6/30/2014)*
Earl Head (term expires 6/30/2012)*
Judith Jorgensen (term expires 6/30/2013)
William Mock (term expires 6/30/2012)*
Barb Petro (term expires 6/30/13)
Pastor Daniel Samms (term expires 6/30/2012)
Karen Shawver (term expires 6/30/2013)
Curtis Tuggle (term expires 6/30/2011)*
Pamela Waite (term expires 6/30/2011)*
Michael Willets (term expires 6/30/2012)*
(* denotes member can serve additional renewal term)